Assemblymember Mike A. Gipson Appointed Chair of the Select Committee on Police Reform

An excerpt from the LA Sentinel

This week, Assembly Speaker Anthony Rendon (D- Lakewood) announced the formation of the Select Committee on Police Reform and appointed committee members. The committee will continue California’s leadership in police reform and seek measures to ensure public safety.

California has again led the nation by passing some of the strictest police use-of-force standards while also mandating de-escalation and use-of-force training. The legislature also recently sent bills to the Governor’s desk to ban deadly carotid choke holds, reorganize sheriff oversight commissions and increase transparency and impartiality in officer-involved shooting investigations.

The Select Committee on Police Reform will be chaired by Assemblymember Mike Gipson and include Assemblymembers Rebecca Bauer Kahan, Rob Bonta, Jordan Cunningham, Jesse Gabriel, Lorena Gonzalez, Tom Lackey, Evan Low, Chad Mayes, Eloise Reyes, Blanca Rubio, and Shirley Weber.